Professor Steve Eichhorn
Steve Eichhorn graduated in Physics from the University of Leeds in 1993 and subsequently completed a Masters degree in Paper and Forestery Industries Technology at Bangor and UMIST in 1994/5. He then went on to do a PhD degree, graduating in 1999 on the subject of the "Deformation Micromechanics of Regenerated Cellulose Fibres". His academic appointments have been as a temporary Lecturer in the Department of Paper Science (then separate from the School of Materials) in 1997-8 and as a Visiting Research Scientist from 1998-1999. After this period he went to work under the supervision of Professor Bob Young as a postdoctoral research associate (1999-2002) and was appointed as a Lecturer in the Materials Science Centre in 2002. His research interests are the interface between natural and biomaterials research with particular emphasis on cellulosic materials and composites. He has research projects that also investigate the structure property relationships of seashells and fingernails. In terms of techniques, Professor Eichhorn has particular expertise in the use of Raman spectroscopy, synchrotron x-ray diffraction and molecular dynamics/mechanics modelling of polymeric materials. He is a member of the ACS Cellulose and Renewable Materials division, the Institute of Physics a Fellow of Institute of Materials and of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Professor Eichhorn was the winner of the 2011 Rosenhain Medal and Award from the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining. He was also the 2017 winner of the Hayashi Jisuke Prize from the Japanese Cellulose Society.

From 1st September 2017 Professor Eichhorn will be taking up a position at the University of Bristol.

Research Associates

Dr Anna Lewandowska

Dr Nandula Wanasekara

Dr Rinat Nigmatullin

Dr James Beard

PhD Students

Masitah Abu Kassim
Nor Inai

Daniel Hewson

Qiang Li
Joe Morgan
Caterina Palange

Former group members

Research Associates

Dr Fenglei Zhou (Manchester)

Dr Yat-Tarng Shyng (Exeter)

Dr Kenny Kong

PhD students

Dr Siyu Jin

Dr Rafeadah Rusli

Dr Deepak Kalaskar

Dr David Scurr

Dr Franck Quero

Dr Supachok Tanipchai

Dr Tanittha Pullawan

Dr Jim Dugan

Dr Luis Ribeiro

Dr Marek Hejda

Dr Laura Farran

Dr Beth Mottershead

Make a Free Website with Yola.